University of Delhi: A Notch above the Others

Sir. Maurice Gwyer,Vicen Chancellor

Sir. Maurice Gwyer

Vicen Chancellor

The University of Delhi (renowned as DU) was established in 1922 as a unitary, teaching and residential university by an Act of the then Central Legislative Assembly of the British India. One of the largest and
affluent universities, DU at present, comprises of 261,169 students, 16 faculties, 86 academic departments, 77 colleges and five other recognised institutes. The expansive syllabi encompassing Applied Social Sciences & Humanities, Commerce and Business Studies, Interdisciplinary & Applied Sciences, Law, Music and Fine Arts among several others attracts a wide spectrum of students at a global level. The 27 centres and institutes of DU are divided into several categories including Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centre for Biomedical Research, Institute of Informatics and Communication, Delhi School of Economics,D.S. Kothari Centre for Science, Ethics and Education and many more. This
sought after university is the alma mater of some of the most distinguished personalities like Amitabh Bachchan, Sheila Dikshit and R.K Laxman to name a few.

This UGC, NAAC and AIU accredited university is certainly unlike its Indian counterparts. The President of India is the Visitor, the Vice President of India is the Chancellor and the Chief Justice of India is the Pro-Chancellor of the University. The Court, the Executive Council, the Academic Council and the Finance Committee are the administrative authorities of the University.